Those Pesty Insects!

Well, I have 16 days until I am on my way home. It’s crazy how fast time flies, but at the same time, it seems like I had so much time here. Where did that all go?

This week, I worked with the Biotic Stressor Resistance Evaluation (BSREC) department, where I learned about common pests and infections for rice plants. The five I worked with were the BPH (brown plant hopper), GLH (green leaf hopper), Blast, BB/BLB (bacterial (leaf) blight), and Tungro. I was able to go into the fields and infect the plants with BB and Blast, where they will later be scored for resistance or susceptibility. I also observed how both GLH and BPH were monitored and used to test the crop’s resistance. During my time in the fields and the greenhouse, I developed a huge respect for the workers who go out every day and endure the heat for extended hours at a time. It’s very labor intensive and draining!

While I was with this group, they were super welcoming and offered me fresh native fruits, which they grew themselves. They love to crack jokes and get concerned when I am too serious. The biggest thing I’ve learned from my experience in the Philippines so far is that Filipinos definitely know how to make someone smile!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Carol Dolan says:

    You make people smile. I am so happy you will be home soon but afraid you will be bored after having such a wonderful hyper focused experience.
    LOVE YOU
    GRAM

    Like

Leave a Reply

