Work, Work, Work

Lab work is going well! Currently, my IRRI advisor is working on increasing Zinc concentration in high yield rice crops. Since there are so many factors to consider in his project, he is sending me to observe the work his collaborators are doing. He is making sure that I will be learning as much as I can while I am here, so he has provided me with a list of where I will be at throughout my two months here. As a result, I am able to see the various aspects to this one main project and better understand the whole process.

I spent the first few days of work reading articles and taking notes of the project, while they organized my schedule with the other departments. I have been out in the fields several times, observing conventional breeding methods. I also visited the biofortification headhouse, where they process the grains after harvest. There, I was able to observe dehulling, sorting, and milling. The final product is then sent for X-Ray Fluorescence (XRF) analysis. The Zinc concentration is recorded for each of the samples, along with notes of the phenotypic variation, and then later analyzed.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Carol Dolan says:

    Everything is so interesting. Brings out the scientist in me. I wish I could be there to make drawings of the plants

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

