In the Patties

Today was our official orientation day for IRRI. It was a few days after we had already arrived here, but the orientation was meant to inform us about what IRRI does overall. We learned more about AFSTRI, although we had already been somewhat informed because of our Puerto Galera trip, got to visit the rice museum, had an authentic rice planting experience, and even saw the world’s largest collection of rice varieties at the International Rice GeneBank, which is located here at IRRI.

The first part of our day was spent in the fields. Since I cut my foot at Puerto Galera, they were nice enough to let me borrow some fashionable boots. They made it super slippery to walk through the mud, so I fell a few times. The locals thought it was hilarious, but I had a good time. I have a few photos that well represent my struggles. Otherwise, we spent the rest of the afternoon visiting different areas of IRRI, such as the GeneBank, museum, and Rice Health Unit where they clean the specimen before international shipments.

It was a jam-packed day full of activities for us and a few other new interns. Although the heat was bad at times, the experience was well worth it. I enjoyed learning so much more about this institute that I will be spending the next month and a half at.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

